Seven Sacraments of the Catholic Church

  • Baptism
  • Baptism is one of the first steps one takes in his or her commitment and discipleship within the Holy Church.

  • Confirmation
  • Confirmation is connected with our baptism, meaning that, like baptism, it is a spiritual commitment to our maturing faith. Confirmation is also one of the three initiation sacraments and is associated with the sealing of the Holy Spirit.

  • Eucharist
  • For Catholics, the Holy Eucharist is sacrifice and a meal. It is our belief that the real presence of Christ is received: body, blood and divinity. We are spiritually nourished and brought to a closer relationship with our God.

  • Penance
  • The Sacrament of Penance (also called Reconciliation) affects three elements: Conversion, confession and celebration. We are forgiven by God through His unfathomable love and we, in turn, forgive others.

  • Anointing of the Sick
  • The Sacrament of the Anointing of the Sick, also called “Last Rites” and “Extreme Unction,” is related to healing for both spiritual, mental and physical illness.

  • Matrimony
  • Couples make a public sign of their commitment to one another through the Sacrament of Matrimony (Marriage). This Sacrament also shows the couple’s dedication to God and His values.

  • Holy Orders
  • The Sacrament of Holy Orders, also known as Ordination, is related to the ordination and office responsibility of the priest who is used as a vessel for the other Sacraments to be offered to the congregation, especially the Eucharist.

Excerpts from Meditations on the Sacraments of the Catholic Church, ©2013 2nd Edition. Used with permission.

Comments are closed.